Image

MysteryThriller Book Review Dirt Creek by Hayley Scrivenor

Hayley Scrivenor. Flatiron, $26.99 (336p) ISBN 978-1-250-83475-1

Australian author Scrivenors stunning debut blends a taut psychological thriller with a suspenseful police procedural. During Christmas week 2001, amid a summer so hot that the edges of the road crumbled, Det. Sgt. Sarah Michaels and her partner, Det. Constable Wayne Smith, investigate the disappearance of 12-year-old Esther Bianchi in the gritty town of Durton. Esthers BFF, Veronica Thompson, may have been the last one to see her after she left school but didnt return home. Or maybe it was their 11-year-old friend, Lewis Kennard, who was bullied at school and telling lies to protect secrets. Progress is stymied with media attention and police support drawn to a high-profile case of missing twins elsewhere in the state. The cases may be linked and connected to a drug ring. Betrayals, domestic violence, festering family secrets, and fractured friendships delineate clashes among spouses, parents, children, and extended relatives. Scrivenor does a superb job laying out Sarah and Waynes backgrounds and their working relationship as the well-crafted plot builds to a powerful conclusion. Fans of Liane Moriarty and Jane Harper wont want to miss this page-turner.

Agent: David Forrer, InkWell Management. (Aug.)

EDITORS PICKS FOR THE BEST NEW BOOKS

Linda Hammett, the unreliable narrator of this sublimely structured and darkly witty novel from British author Cannon (Three Things About Elsie), works in a charity shop and has

Death at the Manor: A Lily Adler Mystery

Death at the Manor: A Lily Adler Mystery

Schellmans excellent third Regency mystery featuring widow Lily Adler (after 2021s Silence in the Library) takes Lily from London to Hampshire for an extended stay with an

Trinchieris excellent third Tuscan mystery (after 2021s The Bitter Taste of Murder) finds former NYPD detective Nico Doyle enjoying breakfast one Sunday morning at his rented

In 1898, Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson are summoned by Mycroft Holmes following the apparent suicide of Christopher Bastion, one of the Foreign Offices most trustedand most

Categories: Mystery and Thriller

Pre: Novel80

Next: Stacker

Popular Posts

01

Goldbox Deals

02
03
04

2020 Rules Eligibility

See All Popular

link: google